The Age of Not Believing

There comes a time in every writer’s life when they hit a wall. This wall may be their ability to hit a deadline. Or maybe it’s a loss of faith in their own work.

They look at the last thing they’ve written and go “this is utter sh**!” “It doesn’t work. My pacing’s off. My characters are flat. Who the Hell do I think I am?”

And here’s the thing. Maybe it’s true. Maybe it’s not. But there’s only one thing you can do, face it and move on.

A day’s break to take a walk. A week’s vacation from creating anything new. That’s fine. But if you stop writing completely? You’ll never know where you could get. Maybe your hero starts following your twitter. Or one day you randomly get an email from an author you respect and who’s stories you love saying “Hey, I really wanted to read that story, but your link is broken.”

That’s the day when you realize that your doubts about yourself are not the point.

Telling stories is.

You have to go through the age of not believing in order to refind your sense of wonder. That sense of wonder is what will elevate you past your wall and back into your magic.

The song from which I’ve stolen the title.

About Kate

I'm in my late 30's, living in the DC Metro area. I'm an author, a reader, a businesswoman, an investor, and an avid Alice in Wonderland fan. Occasionally, I have outrageous fits of productivity....

Leave a Reply

