Hi there, stars!

I was going to post something insightful about the new project that’s gearing up for launch, but I’m saving that for Friday. You’ll just have to come back then. *nods firmly*

Instead, I’m going to gush about how proud I am of our author Briane Pagel. His book has a 4.5 rating on Amazon, which is pretty darned good. The reviews are very good and thought-out. The minor flaws they point out are a bit more of personal preference in my opinion than huge issues. But as I say, they are minor.

But the proud part? That’s how Briane handles responding to his reviewers. His responses are respectful and lightly humorous. I am thrilled! (And we didn’t even discuss that as part of marketing, as far as I remember.)

Personally, I’m of two minds about responding to reviews. If you have the skin and the tact to handle responding to every one (even bad ones) with a thank you or a light comment, go for it. If you don’t have a thick skin and get jumpy about bad reviews, I encourage you to respond to all comments with a simple “thank you” or don’t respond at all. Do not, DO NOT, get into a spitting war with your reviewer. All that does is give the reading public a very bad taste in their mouth.

Readers, I encourage you to leave reviews for books you enjoy. Reviews are love for your favorite authors. They help promote the work. They help in page rankings. Any buzz you can give to authors you like or love is positive.

Writers, I encourage you to only review books you feel positively about. Mea culpa, I have a book I despised and wrote a rather scathing review of it. I haven’t done that since then because I realized that people actually read my blogs and well, I’m not A Nonny Mouse anymore. Writers need to stick together.

Readers & Writers: If you have a criticism of a book, that’s valid as part of an overall review, fine. Do not attack the author. A book can be a piece of tripe, but the author is not. The author is a human who wrote a book you do not like. Please keep that in mind.

Well, that went a little off course. Still, reviews are love. 

About Kate

I'm in my late 30's, living in the DC Metro area. I'm an author, a reader, a businesswoman, an investor, and an avid Alice in Wonderland fan. Occasionally, I have outrageous fits of productivity....

Leave a Reply

