And in this corner, your crippling guilt!

I’m going to start this post with a warning. It’s friendly, and mostly just so you know what to expect around here.

November and December are always going to be rocky months, here at The Art of Procrastination. They just are. Kate and I are both Nano participants, and we have families and lives that sometimes, for small bits of this slippery, strange thing we call time, they don’t involve a computer.

Case in point, I walked away from my computer on Dec 17th, to travel for the holidays, and didn’t get back to it until January 6th.

So, it’s early January, and it’s time to talk about goals. Ehehe.

Goal making in business, to me anyway, is like herding kittens. And not regular kittens, I’m talking the mixed breed spotty ones someone’s given caffeine and high-grade catnip. Because I can line up all the little markers for where I’d like them to go, and what I’d like them to be, but you can bet anything you like, as soon as I open that gate they’re going to just go where they want.

So, bearing the Spotty Kittens of Evil in mind, I’m going to give you a couple of big goals, so you can giggle at me as we watch them slalom by.

1) I’d like us to be in a position the very concept of our booth at AwesomeCon doesn’t make me break out in hives. And we totally can be. I even sort of cautiously, hopefully, think we will be. I still get just a little itchy thinking about it.

2) I’d like us to reach a point I don’t sit down at the beginning of every month and just utterly wreck the calendar. Because nothing’s going where I thought it was. This is mostly a me thing, and a lack of understanding what’s actually accomplish-able in a period of time (hint, it’s much less than I think it is).

3) All the normal business goals. Growing our brand, and increasing our market and blah blah blah. You know what all those are. They’re all over the place.

And I am happily open to suggestions about all of that, if you’ve got them.

ps– If you happen to write YA or NA, or anything ancillary, and you haven’t checked this out yet, you should.
Leave a Reply

