Cognitive Dissonance

It’s a Jules week on here Art of Procrastination, and we’re going to talk about Cognitive Dissonance.

More expressly, Dissonant Relationships.

Dissonant Relationships are when you know something is bad, but you do it anyway. “Alcohol is bad, and I should not drink,” followed by you going to the club with a friend and getting roaringly drunk. Or, conversely, when I know all of the deadlines I have coming down the pipes soon, especially with the holiday season looming ever nearer, and I start watching the entirety of Crash Course: World History.

On of the things that makes procrastination an art-form is knowing when to stop. I haven’t figured that out yet. I mean I’ve gotten it down to when I have severe, promotional engagements or deadlines that can’t be avoided. As a writer I do a probably better than average job of making my deadlines. I try to do the same as a publisher (although that always gets a little more play because it can).

But I have kind of a radical thing, with Dissonant Relationships and procrastination. I don’t actually see it as a bad thing. Sure, if taken to an extreme. If I sit and play around and watch John Green be adorable and mess around with yarn to the point where I miss my professional, or quasi-professional commitments.

The flip side of that is an acceptance of how hard I work, how hard most of the writers and artists and bloggers and creative people I know work. Even when–especially when–it doesn’t look like work and the entire world thinks we’re just screwing around. I deserve a minute to watch a grown man electrocute himself with a writing utensil because he doesn’t know who wrote some obscure historical document.

And so do you. So go, find something ridiculous to do, and take a minute for yourself.

And then get your butt back to work.

One thought on “Cognitive Dissonance

  1. Kate says:

    *hides face in shame* Gods, deadlines. So many deadlines. At least I’ve hit a few of them. They are my salvation though, because as long as I’m accountable to someone else, things get done.

    I’m looking at the editing I need to finish by the end of this month and my entire reaction is… meh. I know I need to look at it and work on it a little at a time, but the rest of my mind is of the “just jump in and do the whole thing the night before it’s due.” Which is not helpful. Maybe I need to listen to the Green bros instead of video game playthroughs. I don’t know. If I don’t get to play games much anymore because I’m so busy, at least I can hear them, right?

    Aw, Hell. There’s that beeping on my phone reminding me I have stuff to do. TTYL.

Leave a Reply

