Getting Started

Mark Twain famously said “The secret to getting ahead is getting started.”

We’ll just pretend I’ve said the standard caveat to any quote by any famous person ever not caught on video (and even a few that are).

Sometimes life conspires to remind me, vividly, painfully, that we’re still starting. Files spin uselessly in the apparent purgatory of ‘validation’–which is a whole level of irony I’m not touching. The slush piles grows and grows but not always in the ways we want it to, and I’m not even hinting at skill so much as type. People ask me questions about a contract I wrote and I don’t immediately know the answers.

Sometimes those reminders aren’t quite so likely to make me run for my happy cave. I get to foster people who have new, interesting ideas. I get to dive into different kinds of layout, and new splashy fun graphic-y things.

Sometimes I get to crawl up on my soap-box du jour and pitch a thing. Which I’m going to do now, and probably badly. Just so you’ve been warned.

We made a conscious, intentional choice not to seek any form of advertising when it was time to publish Wee Tales. We pushed for pre-sales and other options because it was a publication for children and I have a children and I have a soul. Anyone who has spent any amount of time with a small child can tell you chill-inducing stories about the things they’ve been asked for because a four year old saw an ad for it.

But our next publication, Refractions, is a different animal entirely. Refractions is a journal aimed at teen and young adult readers, and that makes the concept of selling ads a tiny bit more palatable. A tiny tiny bit. I am a child of flaming liberals and sometimes bowing to the whims of the capitalist machine makes me distinctly uncomfortable.

The answer to this? We’re selling ad space, but we’re selling ad space for books. So if you, or someone you know, writes books for the YA market have them drop us a line to hear about our plans for this (pricing, space, extra goodies that come with helping us get this thing off the ground).

One thought on “Getting Started

  1. Kate says:

    Reasonable prices! Buy today! Also includes links on our subsite for Refractions.

    Support teen literature!

    1/6 of a page for $10.
    A full page for $40.

    *ahem* This has been your carnival barker for today. I’m here all week. Try the veal.

Leave a Reply

