Whew! What a week!

I almost missed my week of posting here, what with running around like a proverbial headless chicken trying to hammer out the business details that come from signing contracts with different distribution channels.

CBE cover 3Luckily, being busy as Hell, means I wasn’t able to panic about my book being published. (Yeah, we’re publishing it, but it still went through the entire process from contract, to deadline, to editing, editing, editing.) That is a good thing. I can’t get cold feet on a file that’s already been processed right?

This whole process has allowed us to iron out the real timelines for things as well. Being overly-ambitious is all well and good. It’s the only way to really make a go of things. But you need tobe realistic so you don’t end up leaving authors in the lurch, abandoning projects half-done, or forgetting to pay the bills. You do *not* want to forget to pay the bills. That is a very bad, bad thing. (Double-checking the date to make sure the sales tax isn’t due yet…)

Cherry Blossom Express has gone rather smoothly all things told. It was our first experience with the Amazon & Ingrams distribution channels. We’re getting used to the requirements they have for different file types. So, we’re still fighting with a few of the file types and conversions. (How do you embed fonts into a pdf for example? Seriously. Google and I are spending too much time together.)

Everything we’ve learned on this book will make the next and the next even better.

Wee Tales was beautiful when it was done. (It is the first thing on our archiveshelf.)

I know that my printed books and the current files will be lovely. The to do list for this week has just been madness.

But I’m ending the week with a party. This is my first book, and the next few will come out without a party, but damn it, this is a huge goal for me. HUGE. I’ve been working at being a published novelist since high school. Now it’s happened.

I never had a major graduation party, so f’ it. I say PAR-TAY!

Now that you’ve listened to me kvetch about the business end, here’s the fun part.

These are the links to my book. And the goodreads page for it.

Amazon (for print and Kindle)

Golden Fleece Press (for print and all other electronic formats)

Barnes & Noble (Coming soon)

Goodreads

About Kate

I'm in my late 30's, living in the DC Metro area. I'm an author, a reader, a businesswoman, an investor, and an avid Alice in Wonderland fan. Occasionally, I have outrageous fits of productivity....

Leave a Reply

