Author Meetings and Other Fun Stuff

Or, my to-do list is trying to smother me.

Productivity experts try to tell you to write down everything you have to do and then categorize it as to importance.

That would 1) Give me writer’s cramp 2) Make me curl up in a ball sobbing 3) Be never-ending.

I do schedule important things. I even write little notes to myself.

On stickies.

That I can paste onto my forehead.

Sometimes, I write on the back of my hand. I’ve been doing that since high school and it’s the most effective tool in my arsenal.

I’ll be honest, I do have a list. It’s mostly endless and I just keep writing stuff down as I remember it – and cross them off as I remember to check it. It’s in a nifty little notebook that has other reminders like – this is your login name for the tax ID and a hint for the password. I don’t look at it every day.

But special things? Like meeting with our newest author Briane Pagel? Yeah, I write those down on my calendar. With big stars and lead-up reminders.

I think the call went well. We went over the Letter of Intent (a roadmap we send to each author that spells out what we do), any contract questions (there were none), a bit about marketing and social media, and some getting to know one another chatter. I’m thrilled to be working with someone who is motivated and has his mind already wrapped around some of the business end of things. His novel is hard-core sci-fi along the lines of William Gibson and Philip K. Dick. I think it’ll be a hit and hopefully the start of a long and profitable relationship.

What did I want him to do while he waited on the edit letter? Start up his social media on FB and Twitter. Start working on, or finishing his next project.

Honestly, that’s what I advise anyone getting into this business to do. Set up a fan page on Facebook. (This is easier than it seems.) Set up a “professional” Twitter account — you know, one with your name on it. Set up a blog and start writing posts. (Be yourself. Unless you’re being a unicorn, in which case, have at it.) Keep writing.

Like meditative practice, writing gets easier the more you keep on it.

Blogging, well, that gets easier too, I think. I mean, I’ve actually managed to be consistent on writing two posts on this blog every other week. Now I just have to get to writing consistently on my author blog.

*shakes head* As Alice (in Wonderland) once said, “I give myself very good advice, but I very seldom follow it.” I’m off, to change that habit right now.

About Kate

I'm in my late 30's, living in the DC Metro area. I'm an author, a reader, a businesswoman, an investor, and an avid Alice in Wonderland fan. Occasionally, I have outrageous fits of productivity....

Leave a Reply

