Muddling through and relying on others

So, I’ve got this book up for pre-order. I’m chuffed about it, really I am.

But I’ve also got one heck of an event to balance this week, so I’m not necessarily giving the reviewers my full attention this week.

This week Jules and I are running The Book Lover’s Bazaar. It’s a charity event to support First Book-Northern Virginia and Nova Nano. That’s the easy part. It’s also got a ton of moving parts – including a mini-writer’s conference, a perfect your pitch event, children’s readings, a silent auction, authors for signings, crafters for interest, a book sale, and to top it all over – a last minute venue change and open slots for volunteers that need filling. By SATURDAY.

(Y’all are invited if you’re in Northern Virginia by the way. Hey, you could even volunteer!)

But the biggest lesson, and something I’m actually starting to be able to do, is relying on others to get things done. This has been one long, amazing journey of asking for help from people. And this time – every time I ask for help, I’ve gotten it.

Our first venue fell through. So, I got the suggestion to post a request in the local writer’s group on Facebook. And not even three hours later, we had a place.

We needed tables and chairs – Jules’ husband asked his work and we have tables and chairs to use.

We needed silent auction items – they appeared.

The only thing we need more of it staff-bodies, but we’re arm-twisting a few of those into place as well.

It’s been amazing. Really it has. Things have come together in spite of the roadblocks and growing pains of any event. And all the things we’ve learned this year will make next year even better.

I have to put out a huge thank you to everyone involved and all of the authors and vendors who have been so patient with me.

And I have to say, this is one of the few times that giving up control of the pieces has worked out. I’ve finally found people that I can trust not to drop all the balls in the middle of the juggling act.

That’s rare.

And beautiful.

Thank you.

About Kate

I'm in my late 30's, living in the DC Metro area. I'm an author, a reader, a businesswoman, an investor, and an avid Alice in Wonderland fan. Occasionally, I have outrageous fits of productivity....

2 thoughts on “Muddling through and relying on others

  1. J M Beal says:

    My fingers hurt and there are many papercuts and I feel like all I’ve done today is make buttons and wrap books. More buttons to make, more books to wrap. And bunnies, and a big sign to finish and and and and. This is almost as bad as getting married, I’m wondering what Saturday night is going to feel like…

  2. Kate says:

    I don’t know, but I’m pretty sure there’s got to be an ABC store if not a bar near by….

Leave a Reply

