Well, I was going to talk about ISBN’s…

But then I realized that I need to promote this first. We’re in the last two days of our Kickstarter.

LAST TWO DAYS

So, go. Donate. Pick up some nifty goodies. There’s still a personalized class on writing Children’s Lit available. *hint* *hint*

I’ll wait here.

Oh, you’re back? You loved the idea of a kid’s journal? That’s great! Did you back us? 

You did? Thanks.

You didn’t? Can you spread the word and tweet out about us please?

Okay, so where was I?

Oh, this job/business has definitely had a learning curve. In fact, I have learned a lot studying up for publishing. There were things I knew, but didn’t really know all the details of before I started actively researching them.

Take for instance the ISBN. When I was a kid, ISBN’s were only ever found on the inside leaf of some books. Not every book had them. I’m not kidding. Most of those books I read as a kid? No ISBN’s to be found. Believe you me, cataloging those suckers on LibraryThing or Goodreads is a pain.

Nowadays, things are a bit different. If you don’t have an ISBN, your book does not get ordered. Even the barcodes have changed to reflect ISBN’s on paperbacks. That was never a thing when I was younger either.

You have to have a different ISBN for each form of your book.

I’ll repeat that. You have to have a different ISBN for each format. 

If I were on an old geocities page, I’d make that blink for you.

So, that means, you need 1 for your print edition, 1 for you epub (Nook and others) edition, 1 for your Mobi (Kindle and others) edition, and 1 for your PDF. Oh, you’re having Harbacks done? That would be 2 for your print edition – one PB one HB.

Yup. So there’s that.

And those little buggers ain’t cheap unless you buy in bulk. (Which we did, because, hello, small press!) I’d have liked to purchase more at once because the more you buy, the cheaper they get, but that’s just not going to happen right now. We will, however, be running through them fairly quickly. We’ve got 1 new novel in October. Another in December. At least 2 more already scheduled for next year. And more to come.

Another neat thing I learned. Magazines get ISSN’s from the Library of Congress. Yeah, so that kid’s journal you backed up there? That will have an ISSN attached to it. That’s how libraries can find the magazines when they want to publish them. You just have to get the librarians excited about the possibilities.

So, there you go. The more you know, the more you grow.

Now, if you’re looking for procrastination: Click Here

About Kate

I'm in my late 30's, living in the DC Metro area. I'm an author, a reader, a businesswoman, an investor, and an avid Alice in Wonderland fan. Occasionally, I have outrageous fits of productivity....

Leave a Reply

