Developing a Community

There has been, over the years, a lot of chatter about communities and tribes and networking.

And I have universally hated every part of the discussion.

See, I am an introvert. In my day to day life, when asked to name twenty-five people to take out to lunch for one of those “free lunch” prizes, it takes me a long time to come up with people I’d be willing to hang out with. For me a party is about seven people sitting around, playing a game, or watching a film while eating. About three hours and I’m wiped for the day. (Right now, there are extroverts staring at this post in horror.)

But that doesn’t work in today’s business world. In fact, it doesn’t work in the online world. When everything you say can reach hundreds – if not thousands – you have to think about what that really means. Every post you make, every tweet you send out, and every podcast you publish means something. And the internet doesn’t forget. While the online world seems to run from moment to moment, it has the most robust memory ever created. Things you did five years ago can affect you today.

And this is not a bad thing.

Communities are built on-line over years, not hours. You don’t have to immediately reach thousands – you start with ten. Then it grows to fifteen or twenty. Then it grows from there. Over the weeks and months, every piece of content that gets added develops a clearer picture of who and what you are.

Right now, we’re trying to develop that community consciously. We’re talking to authors. We’re talking to readers. We’re talking to other bloggers. We’re trying to figure out how to reach people and how to connect them to each other.

We’re also slightly freaked out about how to do that when it goes against our natural behaviors of being quiet and sitting in the corner.

Granted, in the future, we hope that it will lead to a robust business and a group of authors and readers who are connected and happy. We want to change the world. We want it to be a place where business, art, and charity can all exist together and help each other. The press gives to charity with every purchase of a book. Money flows towards the authors and the press. And books and magazines flow rapidly toward the readers.

To that end: find us on Facebook Twitter Kickstarter Patreon or Golden Fleece Press

Start a conversation in the comments.

Tell me how you learned to reach out.

Give me tips on making content more appealing.

About Kate

I'm in my late 30's, living in the DC Metro area. I'm an author, a reader, a businesswoman, an investor, and an avid Alice in Wonderland fan. Occasionally, I have outrageous fits of productivity....

4 thoughts on “Developing a Community

  1. Ash says:

    That has to be one of the hardest things I have ever had to do. I had to be social during my years with animal rescue and working in event management. I had to learn to pretend to be extroverted. When you are in an industry in which you MUST be personable, you either run and hide or you suck it up and deal. Think of it as a mask, a play of sorts. While on the phone, in a meeting, working a booth, you put on the Mask of the Extrovert and you play your part for as long as you must. You smile and shake hands, start a conversation, be interested, give the relevant information, and move on to the next. At the end of the day, yes you may be exhausted, but you know you did a good job. You did what you needed to do for your business. Take a moment and pat yourself on the back for the good job, then run and hide under your blankets as we introverts are prone to do.

    • Kate says:

      I hate having to put on masks to do business, but that’s just part of life.

      How did you practice your opening of conversations?

      Thanks for the comment and the understanding. (Burrito time is the best time.)

  2. J M Beal says:

    You know most of my strategies.

    I will say somewhere in my late twenties I learned that when it was time to hide I should just hide. I also learned that no matter how much I liked someone sometimes it wasn’t enough to keep me from getting sick of them after a while.

    And there’s nothing like that first couple of years with Nano, standing in front of a room of 65+ people I don’t know, looking at me like I’m supposed to impart some kind of wisdom to them.

    • Kate says:

      Nothing quite as terrifying as the standing in front of other people thing.

      *sighs* The worst part is that I know I’m capable of it. I’ve done it well in the past. I’m just being oppositionally defiant. I don’t wanna. *whines*

      Okay. Okay. I’m taking a deep breath and just going for it. Time to ask for signal boosts from the big guns.

Leave a Reply

