All the News That’s Fit to Print

Some days I feel like my portion of this blog is about to turn into me whinging about something business related every time.

So today I’m going to whinge for a minute about trying to draw press attention for your enterprises.

When I was a little girl my father was the lead editor for the local paper–that’s the way I remember it, I could be wrong, but given the amount of time I spent coloring on rejected newsprint under his desk I sort of doubt it. I have really clear, lovely memories of the sounds and smells of a newspaper office. I also have really clear memories of the person who’s job it was to answer the phone and accept press releases.

I’m guessing it’s some kind of factor of the state of print journalism today, but apparently that person doesn’t exist any longer. Or maybe they’ve just gotten much hard to find.

Which has left me this week feeling a bit like a window salesperson, randomly sending emails wherever I could manage to think to send them. Against the miraculous backdrop of press attention that started about something completely seperate, and then turned into press attention about the business.

The world is a strange and crazy place. And I’m running away to the lake for the weekend now.

Leave a Reply

