The Things She Keeps

Last week I talked about what you have to give up to make your business successful.

This week I want a more cheerful topic. There are a lot of things that will always stay in my life. Some of them even more so, now that I’ve got a nice tight schedule.

My first love will always be writing. I cannot and will not give that up. No matter how stressed I am, I have always and will always be able to fit writing into the cracks. Granted, the nights of multiple sessions of writing are probably done and gone. But that doesn’t mean that I won’t be hacking away at the next book, next story, or even the next blog post while I’m putting off doing something required.

And I get to justify my book habit now. I’m doing market research. (That’s my story and I’m sticking to it!) So those three new books I picked up? Justified. Totally justified.

I’ve jumped head first into twitter and social media. I’m torn about whether or not this is a good thing, but there is the undeniable fact that I can spend hours on tweeting and blogs.

I get to use all of those marketing ideas that have been floating around in my head. As much as I refused to go into the field, I’ve always been drawing to marketing. I’m a psychologist by training. Figuring out how the mind works and how to get people’s attention is just what I do. (Look, Ma, I’m using my degree!)

Let’s not forget the company of friends. I actually have more of a social life because of my businesses than I ever had before. And if I just worked a regular nine to five, I’d … still be reading and writing and thinking up ways to make money. I wouldn’t be stalking the wild donut at midnight while writing contracts. I wouldn’t be laughing about shared minion jokes. I wouldn’t see my friend KR nearly as much if we weren’t in business together. I have to give GFP props, it’s gotten me out of the house more than anything else.

And, hey, what’s the point of owning your own business(es) if you don’t enjoy them?

So, all of you, go out there and create something! It doesn’t have to be a story. It can be art. It can be a new sport. It can be a business. Heck, it can be a Tumblr account devoted to Sherlock Holmes. Just make something.

About Kate

I'm in my late 30's, living in the DC Metro area. I'm an author, a reader, a businesswoman, an investor, and an avid Alice in Wonderland fan. Occasionally, I have outrageous fits of productivity....

Leave a Reply

