By Passion Shorn

So, one of my friends was trying to convince me to start up the adult line of GFP while JM was away with her family over the fourth. Of course, this conversation also included laser-cats and web-hosting sites, so it was a bit less than serious.

At the same time, I’m not sure that I’m ready to jump into the deep end of that pool. I have absolutely nothing against erotica. And, well, I’m sure I can find material for it that’s good enough to publish. (And some that’s just satire.)

It’s just that most of our current projects are more… family friendly, let’s say. We have children’s books and journals for kids and teens. Even the first novel that’s slated to come out is no more adult than some of the YA I’ve read recently. So, if we were to create By Passion Shorn, I’m not sure that it will fit the catalog for the first six months.

Then again… I’m beginning to get a picture of a rancher in a tight black tee-shirt and jeans with a big belt-buckle at his waist, a cowboy hat dipping down to shade his face and a pair of clippers in his hand near his chest. It’s the banner for By Passion Shorn. No! No! Step away from the shiny new idea. Talk about something else. Anything else before the blurbing starts. Who am I kidding? It’s too late: “Stories that sheer away the fluff and get right to the action.” Or “He was tough, but gentle hands slowly stripped his heart bare.”

Oh, twitter, I am so going to have a topic for you soon…

(By Passion Shorn is not yet a line of Golden Fleece Press. Not this year at least. Unless of course we start seeing some really good pieces…)

About Kate

I'm in my late 30's, living in the DC Metro area. I'm an author, a reader, a businesswoman, an investor, and an avid Alice in Wonderland fan. Occasionally, I have outrageous fits of productivity....

4 thoughts on “By Passion Shorn

  1. thehollisticdetective says:

    I don’t know who this friend of yours is, but they clearly have great ideas!

  2. J M Beal says:

    By Passion Shorn, to launch in February? And it gets its own website. There’s no real value to trying to stay family friendly, I don’t write explicit content–because I suck at smut, not for moral issues–but I write things the people who define ‘family friendly’ don’t generally like.

    • Kate says:

      I’m not particularly family friendly in my general writing either. It’s just that my actual perception of what’s “family friendly” is skewed by parents who don’t believe in censorship.

      So, yeah, I’ll start designing that banner now, shall I?

Leave a Reply

