Human Minions Can’t Read Minds

 

Hello!

And a wild business partner appears.

So, yeah, this ground up business stuff is all sorts of hard work.

We have a Chief Minion. She’s currently getting paid the same as the rest of us… in good wishes and a brighter future. This is the first time that I haven’t had to do everything with just my partner. (Or my mother, who – bless her – has helped me with my other business for years.) Yes, I have another business and it’s been going for 10 years now. So I didn’t go into this blindly. It’s just… I’ve never had a minion.

She’s really efficient too, which makes me feel a bit like a slacker.

One of the strange tasks is figuring out what we can ask her to do and what we should ask her to do. We have a list of things to do, but I realized that my cryptic little notes to myself are not the right way to ask someone else to do something.

For myself I can write “CBE to Ed. w/ pink.” I know what I mean.

Communication with other humans is not the same. I need to actually say “Send project CBE to the graphic design person with that pink cherry blossoms picture I took.”

Part of this comes from having worked with people who never actually finished their work. (I’m looking at you every group project I’ve ever worked on in my entire educational career and every committee I’ve worked with since.) Now that I have someone who does do their work, I don’t know how to handle it.

But DAMN it’s a good problem to have.

(I feel I need to add a parenthetical here warn people that I am not JM. I do not have a small child in the house to help me curb my tongue, so my language is sometimes a bit more colorful.)

So, shout out to the wonderful Chief Minion of GFP! WE LOVE YOU! And you’ll get cookies next week because I don’t have any coconut!

About Kate

I'm in my late 30's, living in the DC Metro area. I'm an author, a reader, a businesswoman, an investor, and an avid Alice in Wonderland fan. Occasionally, I have outrageous fits of productivity....

2 thoughts on “Human Minions Can’t Read Minds

  1. J M Beal says:

    Yes. We hail the minion. The minion is very useful. The minion means things that aren’t absolutely necessary to business creation are still getting done.

  2. Ash says:

    The Minion prevails. I seriously should get that on a shirt! The Minion should also probably start keeping up with reading the blogs.

    I am glad to be of service. I am actually enjoying myself….words I never thought I’d hear myself say….but there you have it.

Leave a Reply

